ÜBER SAFARI SURF ADVENTURES

ÜBER UNS

Safari Surf Adventures ist ein intensives, praxisorientiertes Coaching-Tutorial-Programm für bereits etwas fortgeschrittene Surfer. Unsere Surfcamps führen Euch an abgelegene Orte mit qualitativ hochwertigen Point Breaks, die optimal sind, um den eigenen Surflevel zu verbessern.

Es gibt eine Zeit in der Lernkurve eines jeden Surfers*in, an dem das tatsächliche “Erleben” in bestimmten Wellentypen, Bedingungen und Situationen der einzige Weg ist, nicht nur diese verschiedenen Situationen zu verstehen – sondern auch zu lernen, wie man auf diese Situationen reagiert und handelt. Safari Surf Adventure’s Ziel ist es, die Lernkurve dieser Surfer*innen durch Echtzeit-Surf-Erfahrungen mit High-End-Surftrainern vor Ort zu optimieren.

icons-localization

DIE COACHES

Das Safari Surf Adventures Surf Coaching Programm wird von unseren erfahrenen und passionierten Trainern geleitet. Unsere Kursleiter führen Euch zu den richtigen Wellen und setzen das einzigartige SSA-Trainingsprogramm in und außerhalb des Ozeans ein.

Ein Schlüsselelement unserer Lehrphilosophie sind Video- und Foto-Reviews, die Euch helfen, Eure Lernfortschritte zu verfolgen, um Euch während des gesamten Programms fokussierte Trainingsziele zu vermitteln. Alle Trainingsziele, Fotos und Videos, die wir Euch mitgeben, gehören am Ende Eures Safari Surf Adventures Trips Euch. Ihr könnt diese mit nach Hause nehmen, um so eine großartige Referenz für Eure kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung zu haben – wann und wo immer Ihr auch surft.

  • Ricardo Pires
    Ricardo Pires Teaching Coordinator ~ Portugal

    “I surf because it´s in my blood.”

    Fließen und genießen! Ricardo hat eine ruhige und eigenwillige Verbindung zum Surfen. Für ihn ist Surfen nicht nur ein Sport, es ist eine lebenserfüllende Reise. Mit seinem Surfen zeigt er, dass das Erreichen der Harmonie eine unermüdliche Suche ist, bei der man den Moment zu seinen Gunsten finden und begreifen muss, um die Einheit auszudrücken. Eine Bewegung kann tausend Wellen machen. Ricardo glaubt wirklich daran und hat eine enorme und aufrichtige Dankbarkeit dafür. Seit er im Alter von 14 Jahren von einem magischen 5´ Board, das seinem besten Freund Mica gehörte, begeistert war, reitet er auf den Wellen um Ericeira. Inspiriert von “der schönen und leuchtenden Art, wie die Wellen brechen, dem vibrierenden Klang, den sie erzeugen, und meinen besten Freunden, die Spaß haben, zu surfen”. Er ist bekannt für sein Rail Carving, seine ausgeprägten Bottom-Turns und seinen unverwechselbaren Stil – Ricardo zeichnet gerne glatte und lange Linien in die Welle. Sein Surfstil wuchs mit einflussreichen und entschlossenen Champions, wie seinem Bruder Tiago oder seinen Freunden Mica und Kikas – aber am Ende unterstützt er lieber seinen jüngeren Bruder Tiago bei den Wettbewerben anstatt selbst mitzumachen.

  • Serena ‘Sauce’ Brooke Trainer / Coach ~ Indonesia & Australia

    Serena ist eine professionelle Surferin, Surflehrerin, Wohltätigkeitsarbeiterin und Mutter mit Sitz in Queensland, Australien. Serena blickt auf eine 14-jährige Surfkarriere bei der World Surf League zurück, wo sie den Spitznamen “Sauce” erhielt, weil sie fast alles, was sie aß, mit Tomatensauce zubereitete! Zu ihren bemerkenswerten Erfolgen gehört der Gewinn des Billabong Pro Australia und das Erreichen der vorläufigen Nummer 1 der Gesamtwertung im Jahr 2001. Serena hat auf der World Championship Tour zweimal Platz 2 belegt. Serena hat den Sport exponentiell wachsen sehen, und ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Entwicklung des Frauen-Surfens und wird so auf unbestimmte Zeit eine Ikone des Sports bleiben.

    Neben Serenas Leidenschaft fürs Surfen genießt sie Fitness, Snowboarding, Coaching und ihre Familie – sie ist eine von 6 Schwestern! Serenas neugieriges Wesen hat eine große Leidenschaft für das Reisen an neue Orte und das Erleben neuer Herausforderungen, besonders an Orten mit hoher Energie, an denen sie mehr über sich selbst erfahren und sich auf ihrer spirituellen Reise entwickeln kann.

    Philosophisch gesehen zieht Serena es vor, sich nicht an die sozial bedingte Achterbahn des modernen Lebens anzupassen und sich nicht in die auf Angst basierenden Gesellschaftsformen einzulassen. Als Individuum strebt sie danach, das zu tun, was sie glücklich macht – ohne Angst oder Schuldgefühle, während sie Liebe und Respekt für sich selbst und andere annimmt. Serenas Lieblingstiere sind Kaninchen – die auch ihr chinesisches Tierkreiszeichen sind.

    • Andrea Diaz
      Andrea Diaz Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

      Andrea verströmt den “pura vida” Vibe und Du wirst nicht nur von ihrem Charme und Charisma, sondern auch von ihrer intensiven Leidenschaft für die Kunst des Wellenreitens begeistert sein. Andrea ist 2-fache costaricanische Champion, neben vielen anderen Auszeichnungen in ihrer Surfkarriere. Sie war das erste costaricanische “Roxy”-Mädchen.

      Ihr Instinkt zu unterrichten ist angeboren…. Ihr ISA Level 2 Surf Coaching Zertifikat bestätigt nur ihre Hingabe und Leidenschaft für ihren Beruf, auch sie ist ebenfalls eine zertifizierte Surf Rescue / Rettungsschwimmerin.

      Sie ist so stark im und ausserhalb des Wassers, dass sie auch Fitnesstrainerin ist. Wenn Andrea im Wasser frei surft….pass auf, denn sie ist besser als die meisten Jungs in jedem Line Up!

    • Alonso Aragon
      Alonso Aragon Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

      Alonso surft seit über 20 Jahren und arbeitet seit über 12 Jahren mit der Safari Surf School zusammen. Alonso ist der “Style Master”…. sein Stil an Land übersetzt sich auf das Meer und sein Surfbrett. Ein Surfer mit Stil…. das ist er und wir alle wollen es sein. Er ist ein ISA (International Surfing Association) Level 2 Surf Coach sowie zertifizierter Wasserrettung / Rettungsschwimmer.

      Alonso verkörpert den “pura vida”-Geist, da er aus Costa Rica stammt. Sein Lächeln und sein dröhnendes Lachen sind unverkennbar. Seine Liebe zum Meer und seine Leidenschaft für den Surfunterricht sind unübertroffen. Du wirst Alonso immer bei Dir im Wasser haben wollen…. entweder Dich unterrichten oder Dich mit seinem Sinn für Humor zum Lachen bringen!

    • Helberth Ruiz
      Helberth Ruiz Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

      Helberth ist der stille Kämpfer! Er ist ein glühender Surfer, ein Familienmensch und ein hervorragender Surflehrer. Helberth ist kein übermäßig lauter Mensch, aber lass Dich nicht täuschen…. er ist ein erstaunlicher Surflehrer mit einer aufrichtigen Leidenschaft zu unterrichten. Er ist seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei Safari Surf School.

      Er liebt, was er tut, und das zeigt sich. Um den Gästen zu helfen, den perfekten Surf zu bekommen oder einem Gast zu helfen, Probleme an seinen Surf Techniken zu lösen…. Dein Erfolg bringt ihn zum Lächeln von Ohr zu Ohr. Er muss nicht viel sagen, um zu wissen, dass er ein glücklicher Mensch ist und er liebt es zu coachen.

    • Francisco
      Francisco TRAINER / COACH ~ Portugal
      Francisco ist ein Ericeira Local und begann bereits im jungen Alter von sieben Jahren mit dem Surfen.
      In seinem professionellem Leben schloss er ein Studium in Management und Leadership an einer University in England ab, wo er zwischen 2013 und 2018 lebte.
      Kurz nach seiner Rückkehr in seine Heimatstadt nahm er die Gelegenheit wahr, die Tiago Pires Surf School (TPSS) zu leiten – Denn nichts macht ihm mehr Freude, als Euch in seinem heimischen Revier in Portugal willkommen zu heißen und Euch ein optimales Surferlebnis zu bieten.
    icons-turtle

    MISSION STATEMENT

    Unser Coaching-Programm richtet sich an Surfer*innen mit einem gewissen Basiskönnen.  Für uns bedeutet ‘Intermediate – Level’: ein allgemeines Verständnis der Ausrüstung, gewisse Paddelfertigkeiten, Wellenkenntnisse, um sich in Position zu bringen und eine offene Welle zu fangen – sowie erste Bottom und Top Turns, um diese zu erlernen oder auch zu verbessern.

    Wir veranstalten Performance Surf Camps an relativ abgelegenen Orten mit Weltklasse-Surf – Fokus auf Point Breaks – Felsen, Riff, Sand. Unser Ziel ist es, unseren Kunden unter den wachsamen Augen unserer Surftrainer (ISA – International Surf Association – Level 2 oder äquivalent & Lifeguard sowie Erste Hilfe) zu helfen echte Fortschritte zu erfahren. Zudem bieten unseren Kunden qualitativ hochwertige Unterkünfte an jedem Ort, damit unsere Gäste sich entspannen und ihren Surf-Trip und die Umgebung genießen können.

    icons-wave-white

    NACHHALTIGKEIT

    Das Meer ist unser Spielplatz. Als Surfer*innen stehen wir an der Schnittstelle zwischen einer vielfältigen, sauberen und blühenden Wasserwelt und dem zunehmenden Einfluss unserer Art auf das ökologische Gleichgewicht.

    Allein in den letzten Jahrzehnten haben sich die Meeresverschmutzung, die schwimmenden Kunststoffteile und die damit verbundene Abnahme der Artenvielfalt und des ausgeglichenen Meereslebens enorm erhöht. Safari Surf Adventures wurde auch mit dem Ziel gegründet, Teil der Lösung zu sein, anstatt Teil des Problems.

    icons-turtle2

    DAS TEAM

    • Tim Marsh
      Tim Marsh Partner
      United States

      Tim wuchs im Süden der Insel Oahu, Hawaii, auf. Er fing mit 9 Jahren an zu surfen und als Teenager in seinen ersten Competitions. Hawaii ist ein Mekka für die Surfwelt, und für Tim war es sein Spielplatz. Unnötig zu sagen, dass Tim, der im Laufe der Jahre sowohl den North als auch den Southshore der Insel surft, sein Wissen über Wellen und seine Ozeankenntnisse während dieser Periode seines Lebens erheblich weiterentwickelt hat. Nach der High School zog Tim nach Kalifornien und er setzte sein Wettkampfsurfen in Amateur-Events fort und ist schließlich einige Pro-Events auf der Bud Pro Tour zu dieser Zeit mitgesurft.
      1995 landete Tim in Costa Rica und verliebte sich sofort in das Land und alles, was damit zu tun hatte. 1999 gründete er seine eigene Surfschule namens Safari Surf School in Nosara. Seitdem unterrichteten er und sein Team weit über 20.000 Gästen in der Kunst des Surfens.

      Nun aktuell haben Tim und seine Partner das Safari Surf Adventures Programm entwickelt, um Surfern zu helfen, ihre Surf-Fähigkeiten weiter zu entwickeln, während sie die besten Wellen der Welt bereisen. The journey continues!

      • Dirk Teckenburg
        Dirk Teckenburg Partner
        Germany

        Dirk hat sich als Windsurfer in seinen Anfängen den nordeuropäischen Gewässern gestellt und ist nach und nach zum Surfen übergegangen. Er arbeitet seit vielen Jahren in der Sport- und Surfindustrie aufgrund seiner Liebe und Leidenschaft für die Ozeane, der Natur und einen aktiven und dennoch nachhaltigen Lebensstil. In den vergangenen Jahren war er für den Vertrieb einer weltbekannten Outdoor-Marke verantwortlich und lebte an verschiedenen Standorten in Europa und Asien. Dirk kümmert sich vor allem um unser Marketing und Business Development sowie die europäische Seite von Safari Surf Adventures.

        • Jeremy Johnson
          Jeremy Johnson Partner
          United Kingdom

          Jeremy, unser britischer Earth Scientist, kam zu Safari Surf Adventures, nachdem er 7 Jahre lang in Europa und Afrika als Business Development Projektmanager und Geologe für einige der größten Energieunternehmen der Welt gearbeitet hat. Jeremys große Leidenschaften sind seit jeher Abenteuersportarten und Reisen, die dem Safari Surf Adventures Team eine Fülle unterschiedlicher Erfahrungen bringen. Jeremy wird sich darauf konzentrieren, die Umweltverträglichkeit und die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit von SSA zu gewährleisten und das Surf Science Workshop-Programm von SSA voranzutreiben.

          wave image

          TESTIMONIALS

          • "Andrew and I are so grateful we had the opportunity to experience Rote with SSA.  I thought the accommodation was amazing. The SSA coach's professionalism, organizational skills, surfing ability, creative and therapeutic yoga skills and local knowledge was what made our surf trip so successful." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

            Patricia and Andrew Kelly
            Patricia and Andrew Kelly
          • "The trip was super great. The adventure I had hoped for. I went in with no expectations so everything was a delightful surprise.  The staff are exceptional in every way. I loved the SSA coach so much! Our pro mentor was fun to be around and inspirational." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

            Allison Stratton
            Allison Stratton
          • "SSA's help with flights and logistics was great. Overall it was one of the best surf trips I have done the people and the place were amazing." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

            Jon Guitar
            Jon Guitar
          • "The coaches were truly excellent, as was the hotel and the hotel staff. The coaches truly helped me to understand wave selection and direction better than I had ever before. I am very happy that you put this trip together and that I went with you.  I was considering taking the trip on my own, but believe I could not have overcome the language barrier nor understood the wave nearly as well on my own." CHICAMA, PERU ~ 2017

            Jessie Witherspoon

ABOUT SAFARI SURF ADVENTURES

ABOUT US

Safari Surf Adventures is an intensive, hands on coaching tutorial program dedicated to “intermediate” skill level surfers. Our surf camps take surfers to remote locations with high quality point break surf options which are optimum for enhancing one’s surf level.

There is a time in every surfer’s learning curve, when they get to a point where the need for actual “experience” in certain waves types, conditions, and situations is the only way to not only comprehend those various situations but learn how to act and react to those situations. SSA’s goal is to expedite the learning curve of these surfers through real time surf experiences with high end surf coaches on hand to guide them.

icons-localization

THE TRAINERS

Your Safari Surf Adventures surf camps will be led by our experienced and passionate trainers. Our trainers will guide you to level appropriate waves and employ the unique SSA training curriculum in and out of the water.

A key component of our surf camps’ teaching philosophy is video and photo reviews, helping to track your progress and giving you focussed goals to work on throughout the program. All progress tracking, photos and videos we take of you are yours to take home at the end of your SSA adventure, giving you a great reference for continued progression whenever and wherever you surf.

  • Ricardo Pires
    Ricardo Pires Teaching Coordinator ~ Portugal

    “I surf because it´s in my blood.”

    Flow and enjoy! Ricardo has a calm and idiosyncratic connection to surf. For him surfing is not just a sport, it’s a life fulfilling journey. With his surfing he shows that reaching harmony is a tireless quest, where you need to find the moment in your favour and be able to grasp it to express unity. One move can make a thousand waves. Ricardo truly believes in it and has enormous and sincere gratitude towards it. Ever since surf dazzled him at the age of 14 with a magic 5´10 board that belonged to his best friend Mica, he’s been riding the waves around Ericeira. Inspired by “the beautiful and luminous way the waves break, the vibrating sound they make, and my best friends having fun move after move”. He is famous for his rail carving, pronounced bottom-turns and his unmistakeable style – Ricardo likes to draw smooth and long lines in the wave. His surfing grew along side influential and determined champions, like his brother Tiago, or his friends Mica and Kikas, but in the end he prefers supporting his younger brother in contests instead of joining in.

  • Serena ‘Sauce’ Brooke Trainer / Coach ~ Indonesia & Australia

    Serena is a professional surfer, surf coach, charity worker and mother based in Queensland, Australia. Serena enjoyed a 14-year competitive surf career with the World Surf League where she picked up the nickname ‘sauce’ from putting tomato sauce on almost everything she ate! Among her notable accomplishments was winning the Billabong Pro Australia title and achieving a temporary #1 overall ranking in 2001. Serena has finished with #2 ranking twice on the World Championship Tour. Serena has watched the sport grow exponentially as a key part of the evolution of women’s surfing and will remain an icon of the sport indefinitely.

    Besides Serena’s passion for surfing she enjoys fitness, snowboarding, coaching and family time, being one of 6 sisters! Serena’s curious nature has fostered a great love of travelling to new places and experiencing new things, particularly high energy locations where she can learn more about herself and evolve on her spiritual journey.

    Philosophically, Serena prefers not to conform to the socially conditioned rollercoaster of modern life, nor buy into society’s fear based perceptions. As an individual, she strives to do what makes her happy – without fear or guilt, while embracing love and respect for herself and others. Serena’s favourite animals are rabbits – which also happen to be her Chinese sign.

  • Andrea Diaz
    Andrea Diaz Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

    Andrea exudes the “pura vida” vibe and you’ll quickly be swept away by not only her charm and charisma but her intense passion for teaching the art of wave riding. Andrea is a 2 time Costa Rican National Women’s & Masters champion, among many other accolades in her surfing career. She was the first Costa Rican “Roxy” girl.

    Her instinct to teach is innate… Having her ISA Level 2 Surf Coaching certificate only validates her dedication and devotion to her profession, she too is also a certified Surf Rescue / lifeguard as well.

    She’s so strong in and out of the water as she is also a fitness coach. When Andrea is in the water free surfing…look out because she’s better than most of the guys in the line up!

  • Alonso Aragon
    Alonso Aragon Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

    Alonso has been surfing for well over 20+ years and has been working with Safari Surf School as an instructor for over 12 years. Alonso is the “style master”… his style on land translates to the ocean and to his surfboard. A polished surfer with style… that’s what he is and we all want to be. He is an ISA (International Surfing Association) Level 2 Surf Coach as well as a certified Water Rescue / Lifeguard.

    Alonso embodies the “pura vida” spirit as he is native of Costa Rica. His smile and booming laugh are unmistakable. His love for the ocean and passion for surf instruction is second to none. You will want Alonso in the water with you at all times… either instructing you or making you laugh with his witty sense of humor!

  • Helberth Ruiz
    Helberth Ruiz Trainer / Coach ~ Costa Rica / Nicaragua

    Helberth is the quite assassin! He’s a red-hot surfer, family man, and quintessential surf instructor. Helberth is not an overly loud person, but don’t let that fool you… he is an amazing surf instructor with a sincere passion to instruct. He’s been with Safari Surf School for well over 10 years and counting.

    He loves what he does and it shows. To help guests get that perfect ride or to help a guest work out issues in their techniques… it just makes him smile from ear to ear. He doesn’t have to say much to know he’s a happy human being and he loves teaching.

icons-turtle

MISSION STATEMENT

Our coaching program is aimed at the intermediate level surfer.  To us, ‘intermediate’ level means; a solid general grasp of your equipment, relatively strong paddling skills, enough wave knowledge to put yourself in position to and actually catch an open faced wave, basic bottom and top turns are easy for this surfer to achieve.

We run performance camps to relatively remote locations with world class surf ~ focussing on point breaks – rock, reef, sand. We aim to help our clients experience real surf progression under the watchful eyes and tutelage of our high end surf coaches (ISA — International Surf Association — Level 2 or equivalent & Lifeguard as well as first aid). We also ensure our clients quality, established accommodation at ever location allowing guests to relax and enjoy their vacation and surroundings.

icons-wave-white

ABOUT SUSTAINABILITY

The ocean is our playground. As surfers, we are exposed to the frontline between a diverse, clean and thriving aquatic world, and the increasing impact that our species is having on the environmental balance.

The last few decades alone have seen huge increases in marine pollution, floating marine plastics and a correlated decrease in biodiversity and healthy marine life. Safari Surf Adventures was founded with an absolute commitment to being part of the solution as opposed to being part of the problem.

icons-turtle2

THE TEAM

  • Tim Marsh
    Tim Marsh Co-founder
    United States

    Tim grew up on the South shore of the island of Oahu, Hawaii. Started surfing when he was 9 years old and started to surf competitively when he was in his early teens. Each winter brought the North Shore of the island to life with its infamous surf. It a mecca for the surf world, and for Tim, it was his back yard growing up. Needless to say over the years surfing both the North and South shores of the island, Tim’s wave knowledge and waterman skills developed significantly during this period of his life. After high school Tim moved to California and continued his competitive surfing in amateur events and eventually is some pro events on the Bud Pro Tour at the time.

    Tim’s pro career never took off but his desire to travel the world and surf exotic locations around the globe was more of his calling. In 1995 Tim landed in Costa Rica and immediately fell in love with everything about it. In 1999 he started his own surf school called Safari Surf School in Costa Rica. Since that day he and his staff have been teaching the art or waves riding to well over 20,000 guests and continue to this day.

    Now Tim and his partners developed the Safari Surf Adventures program to help surfers continue their surf skill development while traveling the globe surfing the best waves. The journey continues!

  • Dirk Teckenburg
    Dirk Teckenburg Co-founder
    Germany

    Dirk braved Northern Europen waters as a windsurfer in his early days and gradually moved into Surfing. He has worked in the Sports and Surf Industry for many years due to his love and passion for the Oceans, nature and an active yet sustainable lifestyle. In previous years he has been responsible for the sales & marketing operations of a famous brand and has lived in various locations in Europe and Asia. Dirk is primarily looking after our Marketing and Business Development as well as the European side of Safari Surf Adventures.

  • Jeremy Johnson
    Jeremy Johnson Co-founder
    United Kingdom

    Jeremy, our British Earth Scientist, joined Safari Surf Adventures after 7 years working across Europe and Africa as a business development project manager in and Geologist for some of the biggest Energy companies in the world. Jeremy’s major passions have always been adventure sports and travel, bringing a wealth of different experience to the team. Jeremy will be focused on ensuring the environmental sustainability and community outreach of SSA as well as pioneering SSA’s Surf Science workshop program.

icons-wave

TESTIMONIALS

  • "Andrew and I are so grateful we had the opportunity to experience Rote with SSA.  I thought the accommodation was amazing. The SSA coach's professionalism, organizational skills, surfing ability, creative and therapeutic yoga skills and local knowledge was what made our surf trip so successful." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

    Patricia and Andrew Kelly
    Patricia and Andrew Kelly
  • "The trip was super great. The adventure I had hoped for. I went in with no expectations so everything was a delightful surprise.  The staff are exceptional in every way. I loved the SSA coach so much! Our pro mentor was fun to be around and inspirational." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

    Allison Stratton
    Allison Stratton
  • "SSA's help with flights and logistics was great. Overall it was one of the best surf trips I have done the people and the place were amazing." ROTE ISLAND, INDONESIA ~ 2017

    Jon Guitar
    Jon Guitar
  • "The coaches were truly excellent, as was the hotel and the hotel staff. The coaches truly helped me to understand wave selection and direction better than I had ever before. I am very happy that you put this trip together and that I went with you.  I was considering taking the trip on my own, but believe I could not have overcome the language barrier nor understood the wave nearly as well on my own." CHICAMA, PERU ~ 2017

    Jessie Witherspoon